Transportation

  • Middle Country provides transportation for students well in excess of that required by New York State law. Students in kindergarten through grade five living more than one-half mile from school are eligible for bus transportation. Students in grades 6-12 living more than one mile from school are also transported. Out-of-District transportation to private and parochial schools has been authorized by District voters for students residing in the District (15 miles Grades K-8, 25 miles Grades 9-12).

    Regular drills are conducted to ensure children are aware of what to do in case of an emergency on the school bus. Information regarding bus stops, bus numbers and pick up times is mailed from the schools in the summer.

    Inclement weather may require the bus driver to create an alternate bus stop. Your child’s driver will advise you if this is necessary. 

    Requests for Private and Parochial School Transportation 2018-2019
    In accordance with the New York State Education Law, residents’ requests for transportation to private and parochial schools must be submitted in writing by the parent or legal guardian to the Transportation Office no later than April 2, 2018. Requests submitted after the cut-off date may be approved providing no additional expenses are incurred by the District and providing there are available seats (based upon the April 2, 2018, cut-off date). The purpose of the cut-off date is to enable school districts to implement their contractual obligations and make the necessary arrangements to provide transportation in a reasonable and economical manner.

    Requests for Child Care Transportation 2018-2019
    Students in grades K-8 are eligible for child care requests. Written requests for transportation to or from a private child care facility must be submitted in writing by the parent or legal guardian to the Transportation Office no later than April 2, 2018. Requests for child care transportation to another residence within the child’s school zone must also be submitted in writing by April 2, 2018, to the Transportation Office. All signatures of parents and child care providers, must be notarized. In accordance with state law, any late registrants will be accepted only if there is no cost to the District.

Related Files