About Our School

  • The History of Unity Drive

    Since opening in 1956 as an elementary school in the Middle Country School District, Unity Drive School has served the children of our community in a number of ways. In 1984, Unity became the Unity Drive Learning Center and in 1994 became the home of the district's Pre-Kindergarten program. In 2000, Unity opened with full-day kindergarten as Unity Drive Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten Center, one of our district's two early childhood centers.

    In 2006, Unity welcomed Universal Pre-Kindergarten (UPK), which provides the youngest of our learners with a five day, 2.5 hour preschool experience. Closely aligned with our eastern center located at Bicycle Path School, we provide a smooth transition from the UPK to Kindergarten program. Unity Drive is the designated center for the following elementary schools: Eugene Auer, Jericho Elementary, Holbrook Road, North Coleman Road, and Oxhead Road.

    Together, our Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten programs offer the young learner a continuum of opportunities for social, emotional, and academic growth and development. With an emphasis on literacy, a commitment to NYS Standards and a child centered philosophy that mirrors the Middle Country School District mission statement, we eagerly welcome you!